For physicians Print E-mail


Recommendations: When to refer your patients to the fertility clinic?

Patients of less than 35 years of age, who haven't been able to conceive a child after more than 12 consecutive months of unprotected intercourse, should have a basic investigation done, e.g.:
  • Hormonal tests : FSH (day 3 of menstrual cycle), LH (day 8), progesterone (day 21), TSH and prolactinemia;
    All identified causes should be treated;
    Ex.: Hypothyroidism (Thyroxine), hyperprolactinemia (Bromocriptine), ovulation problems (Clomiphen citrate), etc.
    If the investigation is negative, please refer your patient to a gynecologist for a hysterosalpingography (HSG) or a laparoscopy.

  • Their partners (if applicable) should also have a sperm analysis done. 
    If any abnormalities are noted in the analysis report, please refer your patients directly to the clinic.

It is recommended to do the investigation of women from 35 to 37 years of age, after six months of unsuccessful unprotected intercourse.

For women of 38 years of age or older, please start the investigation and refer them immediately to the clinic.



How to refer your patients?
All female patients need to be referred to the fertility Clinic by their family physician or gynecologist. It is also important to indicate both partner's name on the referral (if applicable) and to attach a recent result of the sperm analysis of the partner (if applicable). However, it is not necessary to refer the male patient. Only the analysis result is required.

Also, basic hormonal blood tests may be very useful for the fertility specialist if available at the time of the initial consultation. It may help him to inform you more quickly about your specific treatment options. Please refer to the consultation referral form here below.

For your convenience, please download this referral form:

When a male partner has previous sperm analysis results below normal range values, the fertility specialist may recommend a physical fertility exam. We have a tendency to concentrate our care almost exclusively on women when in fact, about 50% (a percentage constantly increasing) of our male patients do not have a normal sperm analysis, for reasons that are rarely known. Recent studies have shown a correlation with this specific group of patients and a higher incidence of testicular and prostate cancer, as well as cardiovascular diseases. We feel that it is our duty to investigate these issues for the best interest of these patients.

 


Why do you need to do a male patient fertility exam?
When a male partner has previous sperm analysis results below normal range values, the fertility specialist may recommend a physical fertility exam. We have a tendency to concentrate our care almost exclusively on women when in fact, about 50% (a percentage constantly increasing) of our male patients do not have a normal sperm analysis, for reasons that are rarely known. Recent studies have shown a correlation with this specific group of patients and a higher incidence of testicular and prostate cancer, as well as cardiovascular diseases. We feel that it is our duty to investigate these issues for the best interest of these patients.
It is important for us not only to help these patients to conceive a child, but also to detect any abnormalities that may affect their health.

The attached form was designed for this purpose.


Azoospermia (no sperm found during sperm analysis)
Even when no spermatozoon is found during a standard sperm analysis, medications (such as Letrozole) can improve some cases and help them to produce just enough few sperms to allow us to proceed to a fertility treatment



For more information

Pour les médecins Imprimer Envoyer


Recommandations : Quand référer vos patientes à la clinique de fertilité?

Les patientes âgées de moins de 35 ans, qui n'ont pas réussi à concevoir un enfant après plus de 12 mois de rapports sexuels non protégés, devraient avoir une investigation de base d'effectuée, c'est-à-dire :
  • Bilan hormonal : FSH (jour 3 du cycle menstruel), LH (jour 8), progestérone
    Toutes causes identifiées devraient être immédiatement traitées : 
    Ex. : Hypothyroidie (Thyroxine), hyperprolactinémie (Bromocriptine), troubles ovulatoires (Citrate de Clomiphene), etc.
    Une fois traitées, essayer de nouveau pour une durée relative au groupe d'âge de la patiente.
    Si l'investigation est négative, veuillez référer la patiente à un gynécologue pour une hystérosalpingogramme (HSG) ou une laparoscopie.

  • Leur partenaire (si applicable) devrait aussi avoir une analyse de sperme.(jour 21), TSH et prolactinémie.
    En présence d'anomalie notée au spermogramme, veuillez référer directement le couple à la clinique.

Il est recommandé de débuter l'investigation chez les femmes de 35 à 37 ans, après six mois de rapports sexuels non protégés sans succès.

Pour les femmes âgées de 38 ans ou plus, veuillez débuter l'investigation et les référer immédiatement à la clinique.

 



Comment référer vos patientes?

Pour recevoir un traitement chez Conceptia, les patientes doivent être référées à la clinique de fertilité par leur médecin de famille ou leur gynécologue. Il est également important que toute demande indique clairement le nom des deux partenaires (si applicable) et qu'elle soit accompagnée d'un résultat d'analyse de sperme récente du partenaire (si applicable). Cependant, il n'est pas nécessaire que le partenaire masculin soit référé. Le résultat d'une analyse suffit.

De plus, les résultats d'un bilan hormonal pourraient également être fort utiles, lors de votre consultation initiale, et permettre au spécialiste en fertilité de vous indiquer plus rapidement quelles seront vos options de traitement.

Pour faciliter votre démarche, veuillez télécharger le formulaire de demande de consultation suivant:

En présence d’un résultat antérieur d’analyse de sperme dont les valeurs sont sous les normales souhaitées, il est possible que le spécialiste en fertilité recommande un examen physique de la fertilité masculine. Des études récentes indiquent une corrélation importante entre des résultats d'analyse de sperme anormaux et des risques accrus de plusieurs maladies telles que le cancer et les maladies cardiovasculaires.

Pourquoi faire un examen physique de la fertilité masculine?
Dans certains cas seulement, il est possible que le spécialiste en fertilité demande qu'un patient ait un examen physique de la fertilité masculine. Nos soins sont souvent concentrés presqu'exclusivement chez les femmes, alors que les faits démontrent que l'homme est impliqué directement dans environ 50% des cas d'infertilité de couple. La cause de l'infertilité masculine est souvent inconnue. Plusieurs études récentes démontrent une corrélation importante entre une analyse de sperme anormale et des risques accrus de plusieurs maladies telles que les cancers des testicules, de la prostate et les problèmes cardiovasculaires. Il est important pour nous, non pas seulement d'aider ces patients à concevoir un enfant, mais aussi de détecter toutes anomalies qui pourraient affecter leur santé.


Azoospermie (Aucun spermatozoïde présent dans le sperme)
Même lorsqu'aucun spermatozoïde n'a été trouvé lors d'une analyse de sperme standard, des médicaments (tels que le Létrozole) peuvent améliorer certains cas et les aident à produire juste assez de spermatozoïdes pour nous permettre de procéder à un traitement de fertilité.



Autres informations